Coins and Tokens
Commemorative Coins by Awards Unlimited

I've consolidated all 16 of the 2" commemorative coins put out by Awards Unlimited into this page. The smaller commemorative sets will remain on individual pages for now.  I have them listed in chronological order, with the latest coins at the top, older coins at the bottom, starting with the 1995 coin commemorating the last game of the Big Eight Conference between Nebraska and Oklahoma. If you see any I'm missing, please let me know.

Mike Riley, Head Coach, 2015

2015 coin commemorating Mike Riley's first season as Head Coach of the Nebraska Cornhuskers.  

50th Season of the Blackshirt Tradition, 1964-2013

2013 coin commemorating the 50th season of the Blackshirt Tradition from 1964 to 2013.  Even though only starters receive the jerseys, the term "Blackshirts" represents Nebraska’s defense in its entirety, its spirit and the considerable weight of five decades of success. In addition to leading the nation in total defense twice – in 1984 as well as in 1967 – the Blackshirts have ranked among the nation’s top 10 in all four major defensive categories five times (1967, 1984, 1994, 1996, 1999). They have also helped the Huskers win five national championships (1970, 1971, 1994, 1995, 1997).  

2011 Big Ten Conference, Legends and Leaders

Commemorates Nebraska's move to the Big Ten Conference starting in July 2011, which expanded the conference to a total of 12 teams. Later expansion in 2014 with the addition of Maryland and Rutgers moved the total to 14. 

2009 Ndamukong Suh Career Commemorative Coin

Coin commemorating the Cornhusker career of Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska's most decorated player.  The backside lists his awards and accomplishments as a Husker.

2009 - 300th Consecutive Sellout Commemorative Coin

 2009 coin commemorating the 300th consecutive sellout at Memorial Stadium played September 26th against Louisiana-Lafayette. This is an ongoing NCAA record streak dating from the November 1962 game against Missouri in Coach Devaney's first season as head coach.

2008 Coach Pelini AD Osborne Game Day Flip Coin

Game day coin used during all home games in 2008, first season for new Head Coach Bo Pelini.  Coin features Coach Pelini on the "heads" side, with former Head Coach and current Athletic Director Tom Osborne on the "tails" side. Purchased in a plastic case with gray foam protecting it. "A Return To Tradition" printed in gold letters on the case on the Coach Pelini side.

2004 Coach Bill Callahan - The Biggining of a New Era

Well, it didn't turn out the way some thought it would, but it lasted until the end of the 2007 season.

2001 Eric Crouch Heisman Trophy Coin

Coin commemorating Eric Crouch's winning of the 2001 Heisman Trophy.  Includes his career rushing and passing stats on the front.

2000 Charlie McBride Retirement Coin

Coach Charlie McBride retired at the end of the 1999 season.  He served as the Defensive Line Coach from 1977 to 1999, then Defensive Coordinator from 1982 until he retired.  McBride's Blackshirts ranked in the top 10 nationally in Total Defense 11 times since 1982. 

1998 Frank Solich Inaugural Season Coin

Coin commemorating Coach Solich's inaugural season as head coach of the Cornhuskers. 

"Continuing a Tradition of Excellence"

The back lists all Nebraska coaches and the years that they coached, followed by the 1998 season opponents. 

1997 Championship Season Coin
The front lists the season schedule and results, culminating in the 42-17 win over Tennessee in the Orange Bowl. The back lists individual and team accomplishments:

Tom Osborne's Final Season - 255-49-3
Outland Trophy Winner - Aaron Taylor
Lombardi Award Winner - Grant Wistrom
Scott Frost - 1,000/1,000 Yard Season
Ahman Green - 2,083 Yards
Nominated for ESPN Play of the Year - "Flea Kicker" vs. Missouri
(went on to win the ESPY Award)

1997 Tom Osborne 25th Season Coins

These coins commemorate Coach Tom Osborne's Silver Anniversary as head coach of the Cornhuskers. They were released in pewter (shown), silver or gold finish. I also kept this coin together with images of the other versions on a separate page here.

1997 Tom Osborne 255 Career Wins Coins

A coin very similar to the 25th Anniversary Season coin commemorating Coach Tom Osborne's 255th win as head coach of the Cornhuskers. The front side has a slightly different cast with a change to the banner and 25 changed to 255, but also the relief of Coach Oaborne is slightly different (see the microphone placment and shoulder angle, for example).  This one came out after the 1998 Orange Bowl (255th win), as opposed to earlier in the season like the other one did, as it wasn't known that he would retire until just prior to the Big XII Champioinship game.

1996 Fiesta Bowl Coin

Replica of the coin tossed during the 1996 Fiesta Bowl. Nebraska Cornhuskers 64, Florida Gators 24.

1994-95 National Champs Coin

Coin commemorating the Back-to-Back titles of 1994 and 1995. 

"Finished Business"    "Staying Focused"

Final Big 8 Conference Game Coin

This coin commemorates the final Big 8 Conference football game played on November 24, 1995.  How fitting that it was played between the Nebraska Cornhuskers and the Oklahoma Sooners. The game was a shutout, with the Huskers reigning victorious in a 37-0 route of the Sooners. 

 [Back to Coins]